What is the Correct Order to Watch Spartacus?

what is the correct order to Watch Spartacus

If you wonder what is the correct order to Watch Spartacus TV show, you are at the right place. Below you will find the detailed explanation of Spartacus viewing order.

Before telling you about the correct order to watch Spartacus, we want to share the story of this amazing history drama that was produced by Starz.

The glorious history of the rebellion of gladiators in ancient Roman Empire is one of the favorite themes of filmmakers around the world that was, for example, depicted in the classic Spartacus movie (1960). The modern implementation of the classic Spartacus history episode was decided to be done in the format of an American TV show. The story got the development and huge fan support that is why, in general, the TV version of Spartacus’ rebellion got four seasons each consisting of 10 episodes (about 60 minutes per each episode).

Peculiarities of Spartacus TV show

Impressionable viewers on its one-two beat off fountains of blood spurting from the arteries and vital stumps, which are converted in the battlefield between gladiators. The series is filmed in the style of graphic novels – the best analog in visual style is 300 (Zach Snyder). Some moments – like sex scenes or violence – will be too graphic. Spartacus is not the show you want to watch with your underage kids or parents.

One of such graphic scenes of Spartacus season 1 episode 1 is depicted below:

 The filming order of Spartacus TV series:

The order of filming Spartacus is a bit confusing as well as the storyline. If you want to know what is the correct order to watch Spartacus you need to know that the first season titled as Spartacus: Blood and Sand season was filmed in 2009 and broadcasted in 2010. Then the creators filmed the prequel to the first season even without Spartacus appearance since the actor Andy Whitfield who played the leading role in the first season left the show because of cancer. The prequel got the title Gods of the Arena and was broadcasted in 2011. But the ratings were very high and the story of the rebellious slave and gladiator demanded the development. That is why in 2012 and 2013 two more seasons (continuing the storyline after Blood and Sand) with the new cast were broadcasted. Their titles are

The chronological order of viewing Spartacus TV seasons:

It is logical to watch TV series Spartacus in the following sequence:

  1. Spartacus: Gods of the Arena (2011) – a prequel to the general storyline.
  2. Spartacus: Blood and Sand (2010) – the first season of the general storyline about Spartacus.
  3. Spartacus: Vengeance (2012) – the second season of the general storyline with the new cast.
  4. Spartacus: War of the Damned (2013) – the final season of the show and finale of the general storyline.

Save the following image to keep in mind in what order to watch Spartacus:

 viewing order Spartacus

Short description of all Spartacus seasons

During the time of the dawn of the great Roman Empire, the Romans found their entertainment in every way possible, without hesitating to use unwitting people for any purpose. The life of a slave was worth a few coins, but when the Roman slave-gladiator Spartacus, surrounded by his followers revolted, all Rome washed the blood, getting to know the true value of human life and freedom.

We will describe the plot in the chronological order to Spartacus’ main storyline (carefully – spoilers):

Prequel to the main storyline was Spartacus: Gods of the Arena

Capua. House of Batiatus is on the rise, basking in the glory of the invincible champion gladiator Gannicus, whose skill with the sword is matched only by his inordinate thirst for wine and women. Then came the time, which dreamed of a young Batiatus, but for the sake of power by any means he is ready to deal with anyone who gets in his way. The intrigues help him and his faithful wife Lucretia (Lucy Lawless) to get important acquaintances in Gaia…

Spartacus viewing order

Spartacus: Blood and Sand – 1 season

The roman legate Gaius Claudius Glaber, driven by ambition and the persuasion of his wife, decides to transfer troops to counter Mithridates, in response to the Thracians say union treaty violations and returned to defend their homes from the Goths. Enraged Glaber announces Thracian deserters and captured one of their leaders – Spartacus, paying the latter one and his wife into slavery. Spartacus in chains is sent to Capua and his wife was sold to the Syrian slave trader…

Spartacus: Vengeance – 2 season

After the bloody escape from the House of Batiatus gladiator uprising begins to instill fear in the heart of Rome. Glaber and his Roman troops are sent to Capua to destroy the growing detachment of Spartacus freed slaves, before they can cause the further blow  to the empire…

Spartacus: War of the Damned – 3 season

watch Spartacus

After Glaber has defeated and failed to subdue a handful of slaves led by former gladiator Spartacus, Rome fears for the peace of the country and intends to once and for all to stop any attempt of the rebels to win over and to free all the slaves. And Rome decides to entrust this matter to merciless Cesar himself to cope with the rebellion of gladiators from the inside…

Interesting facts about Spartacus TV show:

The main roles in the TV series Spartacus were performed by the following cast: the star of “Four Weddings and a Funeral” John Hannah and the star of “Xena: Warrior Princess” Lucy Lawless along with Andy Whitfield who played Spartacus in the first season – Blood and Sand.

Liam McIntyre was the new Spartacus in the last two seasons. This Australian actor replaced Andy Whitfield, who was forced to abandon the filming in the show due to his illness.

Spartacus order to watch

The producer of the film was Sam Raimi himself. He created the first Spider-Man movie with Toby McGuire and the Evil Dead franchise.

We hope you got the useful information on how to watch Spartacus in the correct order if you are a newcomer to the fandom.

How do you think – what is the best viewing order of Spartacus?

(1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)